Hartman Interiors: Project #1 

Ya’ll remember that post I did a few weeks ago about my first interior design job? Well, I finished it this evening! Let me share some before pictures first.  

    
   
The request I had from the homeowners was this: create a space that is brighter and more open feeling. They wanted the accent colors to be red and blue. They had three chairs that I had to incorporate, as well as the tv and tv console. 

So, off I went to try to accomplish this room and make it look fabulous. If I’m honest, I was nervous about the red and blue. I was concerned about the room looking like a Fourth of July party, and I definitely couldn’t let that happen. So, I made my main colors gray and light beige, with accents of red and blue. I painted, whitewashed the brick fireplace, changed out the ceiling fan (Nathan helped me with this ☺️), hung new curtains and curtain rods, and replaced all the old decor and furniture. 

Without further ado, here are the afters. 

   
   
    
   

    
     
        

  
I am so pleased with how it turned out. It feels bright, airy, and spacious now. I love all the different little areas to sit and snuggle up. So very inviting! The homeowners were happy as well, so that counts as a win to me!

Sources: 

Paint color- Lowe’s Sherwin William’s line, color “passive”

Leather, reclining couch – transit damaged freight

Wingback chair, chaise, navy rocker- items previously owned by the homeowners

Curtains, curtain rods, throw pillows, patterned throw, wire baskets on wall- Homegoods

Solid blue throw, glass candle holder and red leather stool- Pottery Barn

Rug- Lowe’s

Wood end table, hanging lantern- Marshall’s

“Not all who wander” plaque- World Market

Console table, wreath, tassel throws, runner in foyer- Joss and Main

Books, red lantern, and beige vase on mantle- antiques found in Williamsburg, Virginia 

Mirror on mantle, white side table- found at yard sales

Hope you guys like the way it turned out as much as I do!

XOXO,

Megan

 

5 thoughts on “Hartman Interiors: Project #1 

  1. You did an amazing job with a tough space to work with! Lots of windows, love the light, but they came make it hard to decorate around! The cozy nooks and soft colors are brought to life with the pops of color! An absolute win in my book! Nice job!!!!!!!

    Like

  2. It looks so great! You could totally start your own business doing this 🙂 I think I am definitely going to be trying your whitewashing tips on my fireplace. Thanks for sharing!

    Like

Leave a Reply

