Whitewashing Brick: A How To Guide (and a little update on my first interior design job)

About two weeks ago I posted a blog titled “Hartman Interiors” in which I shared that I had my first interior design job. Since its been a little while I figured I’d share what’s going on with that. 

After spending approximately eight hours of in-store shopping, about five hours of online shopping, about five hours of refinishing furniture, and seven hours of painting…this room is ALMOST ready to be put back together.  Next Monday the floors are being refinished and after that we will have our final “staging” day. I can seriously hardly wait. I’m for real. I’ve been having dreams at night with ideas for this space. 

It’s proving to be a challenge for sure, but nothing impossible. You see, the space is long and narrow with two focal points (a large entertainment center and a fireplace). In designing a space it’s usually a good idea to only have one focal point in a room, whether that be the bed of a bedroom, or a fireplace in a den, etc. But this room has two, and it’s a narrow space. So trying to brainstorm how to arrange furniture to have it face both focal points, still be functional, and look good all at the same time has had my mind spinning. 

This week I tackled painting, whitewashing the brick fireplace, and replacing the existing ceiling fan with an updated, prettier, and brighter one. A big thanks to my mama and husband for helping me out with all that this week!

So here’s the “how to whitewash brick” portion of this post. I really don’t have any progress pictures just some before/after shots, but it’s actually super easy so here it goes. 

  1. Pick your paint color and purchase it. I went with a tinted white for this project.
  2. Mix your paint half and half with water in a separate container.
  3. Use a paintbrush to paint the runny watered down paint onto the brick about three bricks wide and two rows tall.
  4. Use a rag of some sort (I used old tshirts that I took from my husband’s stash in the basement) and rub the excess paint off until you reach the desired level of coverage.
  5. Repeat over and over and over. Seriously, it takes forever. And your arms will be shaky when your done. BUT, it is worth it. 

I’m usually an advocate of not doing anything to brick. I like it to be all natural and let its character shine through, but if your brick is plain and dreary then this will definitely make it look fresh and much brighter.

Here’s how it turned out.

Before 

 

After

  
I can’t wait to share the finished product of this room. Wish me luck as I put together all the finishing touches next week. I’ll be sharing a post with all the details as soon as it’s finished, so stay posted. 

XOXO,

Megan

One thought on “Whitewashing Brick: A How To Guide (and a little update on my first interior design job)

Leave a Reply

