Apple Butter

Apple Butter. Just those words are enough to make my mouth water. Here at our little Hartman house, we love apple butter! Last year as I was brainstorming ideas of small Christmas gifts for my coworkers I had an idea. Why not try making a batch of homemade apple butter and putting it in cute little glass jars to give as gifts. I executed this idea and it was a hit. I had several recipients ask for the recipe.

This year I did the same thing, and along with sharing the recipe with a couple more people just today I figured I’d share it on here too. I finished my most recent batch of this delicious goodness just this morning. Mmm mmmm…delectable!

When I first decided to try this for the first time I headed to Pinterest. There are tons of apple butter recipes out there. I read a whole bunch of them and took bits and pieces of several recipes. Every time I’ve made a batch I tweak it a bit more. And now, I have it down to perfection! Well, at least I think so. If you are more of a non sweet apple butter lover, then this recipe may not be for you, because it’s fairly sweet. 

Here’s what you need:

*6-7 pounds of any kind of apples you prefer (my most recent apple butter was made with a mixture of red delicious, gala, fuji, and honey crisp)       

*2 cups sugar                                

*1 cup brown sugar

* 2 tsp cinnamon

*1 tsp allspice

*1 tsp nutmeg

*1 tsp clove

*dash of vanilla

  
1- peel apples and cut into cubes (this is the time consuming part, but it’s not too bad when you have cute, little helpers like this one)

  
2-place apples into crockpot and add 1/4 cup water 

  
3- add remaining ingredients

4- cook on low for 10 hours

It’s at this point that your house will start to smell divine!

  
5- remove lid, stir and cook for another 1-2 hours while uncovered (this lets the apples cook down and the mixture to thicken some)

6- place mixture into a blender, ninja, etc and blend into desired consistency

  
   
 
And just like that you have a perfect treat for yourself or to give as gifts! My coworkers got this batch today as Christmas gifts so I guess I’m going to have to make some more for us to have here at home.  It is so yummy! We eat this stuff on everything!

Hope you guys give it a try so you can enjoy it too!!

Leave a Reply

