Guest Bedroom Rehab

We love to host guests at our home and we do so fairly often. We have friends and family from out of state and they are always welcome to come, visit, and make themselves at home here. 

This year, for the first time in several years, we are hosting Thanksgiving at our home. During this time my brother in law and sister in law and my little nephew will be staying with us. Yay! So I figured, why not give the guest bedroom a little makeover. I wouldn’t call this a full renovation by any means, more like a small facelift. 

We’ve always had a guest bedroom, but it just looked tired. This room was full of the bedroom furniture that was in my bedroom at my parent’s house. It was in good shape, but very outdated. And it was crowded; just too much furniture for that bedroom. 

So I began brainstorming. I decided that we could sell the current guest bedroom furniture, purchase a new bed, and furnish the rest of the bedroom with items that we already had around here. (You see, I love a good deal and I love to go to yard sales, garage sales, auctions, etc. and sometimes I will purchase really cool items even if I don’t have a home for them in mind just yet. Oops.) My husband always gives me a hard time about that because this purchasing “crowds his basement”. I’ve always told home that I just couldn’t pass it up and someday I may need it. Well, that “someday” arrived this weekend. 

I told my idea to my hubby and he was excited because this plan included getting rid of more items than we were bringing in and he loves to de-clutter. As do I, however, I don’t consider my treasures sitting in the basement “clutter”. Alas, he was excited which meant my plan was a go. 

I wanted this bedroom to feel cozy and farmhousey (I know I just made that word up, but just try to follow me), but also fresh and airy too. The picture I had in my mind was of a bed and breakfast in a historic little downtown area. I paint these pictures in my mind to give myself inspiration. Maybe I’m a little wacko, who knows? Of course this would be a challenge, since I had already decided to only use pieces I already had around here.  Anyways, I knew I wanted a metal bed, which I was able to find on Craigslist for only $60.00. I tossed around the idea of painting the room, but decided since this was only a room facelift that painting could wait until another time. Without further ado, here are the before pictures. 

 Side note: I put this furniture on Craigslist and had four different people call about it the next day. Awesome, because that meant we didn’t have to haul it to goodwill!   
 
And here are the afters.

drum roll please…I’m kidding.

  Let me say that I did purchase these curtains  and the two white throw pillows on the bed specifically for this room and I did not have them previously.

  

  


   

   


     

  
 And this blanket ladder, I could swoon over it all day. Nathan made this for me and I stained it.   
I may add more items to this room sometime, but I don’t want it to get crowded. As a guest room, I want there to be plenty of room for our guests to comfortably store their luggage and other items they may have with them. 

I’m really liking how this little room facelift turned out. What do you guys think?

4 thoughts on “Guest Bedroom Rehab

  1. Your brother has a wife and kid? When did this happen? lol I love the before/after pics. Can you come make my guest bedroom “farmhousey?” JK . .Like you’re not up to your eyeballs in diapers and scraping oatmeal off the wall on the hour . . Where did you find the time to redo a bedroom?

    Like

    • Haha! Not my brother, but Nathan’s brother. My brother in law. I guess that could have been confusing. Sorry! And I don’t really have the time, but I’m determined. Haha! I let the boys “help” the whole time.

      Like

Leave a Reply

