Finding Out It Was Twins

imageNathan and I decided to start trying for a family in May of 2013. We had been married for 3.5 years at that point. We were super excited, but obviously nervous too. We had been intentionally preventing becoming pregnant up until that point, so we both figured it would take some time for me to get pregnant. Well, in July, only 2 months later, I took a pregnancy test and found out I was pregnant. We were both ecstatic! I was crying and we were jumping all around like little kids at Christmas. It was a special moment I’m sure we will never forget.

image

We took this picture just minutes after finding out we were pregnant.

The next month, in August, we had our first ultrasound and doctor’s appointment. We could hardly wait to see that little life on the screen for the first time. At this point I was 8 weeks and 5 days along. We had our consultation with the doctor first. We went over all of the typical questions and had my blood drawn. The ultrasound was very last.

We moved into the ultrasound room and I remember getting so nervous and excited all at once. The ultrasound started and our tech, Kristen, was awesome! We would come to know her very well over the next 9 months. Anyways, at first she didn’t say anything which made me nervous. A thousand thoughts crossed my mind all at once.  Was something wrong with our baby? Maybe she didn’t see a baby and I wasn’t even pregnant. Or maybe there was more than one?

Let me take a second and back up to a few days before our appointment. Two days before this, I was on Google and had searched “images” for ultrasounds of 8 week old babies. This of course pulled up thousands of search results. I slowly looked through them. Every now and then an image of a twin ultrasound showed up and I got this “feeling”. I know that’s not very descriptive and sounds kinda goofy, but it is so true. I literally just felt different while looking at these particular pictures. When Nathan came home from work that day I mentioned it to him and told him, somewhat jokingly,  that I thought I was pregnant with twins. We both laughed and realized that was highly unlikely.

Okay, back to our ultrasound. After the initial moment of silence, Kristen started smiling and even somewhat laughed. I, almost instinctively, knew what it was but I just sat there almost in shock as Nathan asked, “What are you smiling about?” I remember hearing her very clearly say, “Well…there is definitely more than one baby!” I responded by saying, “We’re having twins!” as tears rolled down my face. And she quickly added that she wasn’t for sure, but she thought she might have seen three. Wowzers! This is the first time I turned around to look at Nathan who was sitting at an angle kinda behind me. He looked like he had just been hit by a Mack truck. He kinda looked dazed and his eyes even seemed glazed over.  I remember we just kinda looked at each other and didn’t really say much as we tried to absorb the information that had just been shared with us.

The doctor came in after that and did a transvaginal 3D ultrasound and verified that there were only 2 babies. But, there were definitely TWO babies. What in the world! We were so excited and scared and shocked and just overjoyed. Every emotion you could probably imagine, we were feeling. But mostly we were thankful. These babies, even at 8 weeks had little fingers and toes and big, strong heartbeats that we could see on the screen.  I remember not being able to take my eyes off the screen as they tried to verify what type of twins I was carrying.

Our boys were monoamniotic dichorionic. This means that they were sharing a placenta but were in different sacs. This meant they were definitely identical. Identical twins form when one egg and one sperm splits four to ten days after conception. Isn’t that the coolest thing ever?!

As we left the doctor’s office that day we were still in somewhat of disbelief. We just kept looking at each other and repeating out loud, “We’re having twins.” And then we would laugh. It was a laugh full of excitement, and also terror as we realized we were getting ready to embark on the journey of parenthood as we would welcome not one, but two babies into our family and into our hearts.

   
    

4 thoughts on “Finding Out It Was Twins

Leave a Reply

